Artist Name: Rednex

12 Jun 2006, 01:52 395244 2270962

Rednex Rednex is a group formed in Sweden, known for mixing pop and Eurodance sounds with elements of country, folk and bluegrass. The group enjoyed success throughout the 1990s with novelty hits such as "Cotton Eye Joe", "Old Pop in an Oak", "The Spirit of the Hawk" and "Wish You Were Here".

Rednex are also known for their several, controversial line-up changes. The group originally consisted of the Annika Ljungberg (Mary Joe), Kent Olander (Bobby Sue), Arne Arstrand (Ken Tacky), Jonas Nilsson (Billy Ray) and Patrick Edenberg (Mup). Edenberg would soon be replaced as a group member by Urban Landgren (BB Stiff). In 1996, female lead singer Annika Ljungberg was fired, partly due to disagreements with the other band members, and replaced by Mia Löfgren (Whippy). During the Farm Out era in 2000, Patrick Edenberg decided to shift the group's focus toward live entertainment, which led to a total rehaul of the line-up. All members of the group were replaced, bringing in Julie-Anne Tulley (Scarlet), Anders Sandberg (Dagger), Roy van der Haagen (Joe Cgg) and Jean-Paul Engeln (Jay Lee) instead. Roster changes continued to plague the group, with Roy van den Haagen and Jean-Paul Engeln leaving in 2003. They were replaced by Tor Pentén (Ace Ratclaw) and Björn Scheffler (Boneduster Crock). A year later, Julie-Anne Tulley parted ways with Rednex.

A decade after leaving the group, original female lead singer Annika Ljungberg returned to Rednex in 2006 and was assigned exclusive rights to license the Rednex trademark until the end of 2008. She replaced Björn Scheffler with her husband, Jens Sylsjö (Snake), and Anders Sandberg with Anders Lundström (Maverick). On 1 January 2009, when Annika Ljungberg's management licence expired, control of the Rednex brand returned to the founders of the group. All members of the group were fired by the returning management following a dispute, and were replaced by members of Rednex Tribute, who were all themselves former members of Rednex.

In January 2012, Rednex announced that they had shelved the concept of a permanent line-up. Instead, the group now uses a larger pool of characters, from which one female and three male performers are chosen for each performance, depending on the location and the availability of the members.

Current members
Mia Löfgren (Whippy): 1998-1999, 2014-present
Cecilia Karlsson (Misty Mae): 2012-present
Christine van de Ven (Abby Hick): 2012-present
Cassidy: 2017-present
Rattler: 2017-present
Puppy: 2017-present
Anders Sandberg (Dagger): 2001-2005, 2009-present
Tor Pentén (Ace Ratclaw): 2003-2006, 2009-present
Roy van der Haagen (Joe Cagg): 2001-2002, 2009-present
Björn Scheffler (Boneduster Crock): 2003-2005, 2012-present
Pontus Söderqvist (Rufus Jones): 2012-present
Jan Blumentrath (Spades): 2014-present
Anders Arstrand (Ken Tacky): 1994-1999, 2014-present
Urban Landgren (BB Stiff): 1994-2000, 2014-present
Jonas Nilsson (Billy Ray): 1994-2000, 2014-present

Former members
Patrick Edenberg (Mup): 1994
Kent Olander (Bobby Sue): 1994-2000
Jean-Paul Engeln (Jay Lee): 2001-2002
Anders Lundström (Maverick): 2006
Jens Sylsjö (Snake): 2005-2008
Annika Ljungberg (Mary Joe): 1994-1995, 2004-2008
Julie-Anne Tulley (Scarlet): 2001-2004, 2009-2011
Nadja Flood (Dakotah): 2012-2015

Rednex NZ
In November 2012, Rednex began a franchise operation in Australia & New Zealand. Four new performers from Auckland and Wellington were recruited to form a second Rednex with a non-exclusive license to perform in Australasia. Performers in the NZ/Australian line-up include Theresa Murphy (Rayanna Randy Payne), Anthony Sibbald (Rawtooth Rick), and Pascal Roggen (Slimboy)

Top Music

Cotton Eye Joe

Cotton Eye Joe

Riding Alone

Riding Alone



Mary Lou

Mary Lou

Rolling Home

Rolling Home

The Chase

The Chase